Monday, January 16, 2012

New 40k FAQs!!! OMGOMG!!!

Some new FAQ updates came out today as well as the necron FAQ!  FAQ day is always pretty exciting as the last couple have changed the game quite a bit.  Check after the jump for a quick synopsis of all the FAQ changes. (except necrons, they'll get their own article) . 
Will your army get better? Or will they be Tyranids???


BRB FAQ
1. Clarified gets hot and re-rolls (si se puede!)
2. Clarified multiple grenades a bit more (can only throw 1 at a vehicle, but you can throw 30 at a unit)
3. Clarified vehicles failing DT tests when starting in terrain. (Counts as moving... doesn't clarify how far it counts as moving... if you flat out, are you dead? If you want to fire from fire points, can you? for F's sake GW...)
4. Ohhh, a big one
Q: Can models embarked upon a vehicle use its fire
points to draw line of sight to a unit to use special
rules or wargear (other than shooting)? (p66)
A: No.

This is pretty cool as it prevents a lot of shenanigans that people were doing while embarked on vehicles. 
5. Clarified that defensive grenades can't be used against Counter-attack

Skipping the apoc FAQs. They have nothing to do with me.

Blood Angels FAQ
1. Clarified combat squads a bit. When they come in from reserves or infiltrate, they can arrive in two different spots. Gives combat squads a little more tactical flexibility, but it's not that huge of a deal
2. Vanguard vets can't heroic intervention from a SR. Wah wah
3. Blood lance doesn't need a 'to hit' roll. Weird. That goes against the rest of the rulings on psa's.
4. Clarified that Sanguinary novitiates can't take wargear options. This was always fairly clear in my mind that they couldn't take gear, but it was an argument that people made so it's good to clear it up.

Chaos Daemons
1. Clarified The masques pavane of slaanesh attack. If you hit a unit multiple times, you still only get to move it once.
2. Really? Was this worth the space it was printed on? Thanks for the spawn FAQ, GW!
Q: If there isn’t space on the board to place the Chaos
Spawn created by Boon of Mutation, what happens?
(p73)
A: Move the models that are in the way the minimum
distance required to make enough space.

CSM
I think this is the first one of these in a while! There should be some good stuff!
1. Apparently 1k sons can't move if they have no leader and are slowed down somehow. I'm not sure when this would ever come into play, but... cool?
2. Clarified that the dread can only fire on things in it's arc during fire frenzy. This helps that unit out a bit as you can position yourself to avoid the shots.
3. Clarified drach'nyen rebelling. Did that need clarifying? Who knows
4. Kharn's unit can't be moved by psychic powers as per 'the unit moves at the speed of the slowest model'.
5. Manreaper is a deamon weapon! Hooray! These FAQs are not as cool as I thought they were gonna be.
6. Greater daemons make space when they come in as per the spawn FAQ above. And if the unit he comes from is pinned or gone to ground, then he doesn't care.
7. Lash is now clarified as a PSA and must roll to hit. This is a minor change from the previous FAQ and was pretty much how it was being played before.  Being able to hide sorcerers in a unit and lash something else was a bit cheesy.  As it is a shooting attack, it has to be used at the same time as the rest of the squad's shooting. So you can't move guys to within 12" and then rapid fire.
8. Ugh... this is a huge nerf for warptime princes
Q: Does Warptime allow the psyker to pick and choose
which To Hit and To Wound dice he will re-roll? (p88)
A: No. He can decide after each To Hit or To Wound roll
but he must re-roll all dice or no dice.
I guess that gives you a security blanket if you fudge your initial rolls, but that makes this one of the worst powers now.

Dark Angels
1. Again, Clarified combat squads a bit. When they come in from reserves or infiltrate, they can arrive in two different spots. Gives combat squads a little more tactical flexibility, but it's not that huge of a deal
2. Mind worm now requires a to hit roll.  Whoopdy-doo! The suckiest power just got suckier.

Dark Eldar
1. Wyches can't dodge exploding tanks when in CC for some reason.
2. They Clarified Djin blades and how they work with another CC weapon. If you strike with another special melee weapon, you do not get the +2A. This boned me in a game a while back.  It was ruled that he got the extra two weapons but they would strike at the str of the model and not at the 4+ of the agonizer. (Which doesn't make any sense per the rules, but it's water under the bridge now)  And if you have a Djin blade and another basic CC weapon, you do get an extra attack.
3. Oooohh, this is a big one too. Lot's of people were arguing over this.
Q: Can I take a flickerfield save against becoming
immobilised from a Dangerous Terrain test? (p63)
A: No. The save from a flickerfield can only be taken
against glancing and penetrating hits.

Grey Knights
1.  Again, Clarified combat squads a bit. When they come in from reserves or infiltrate, they can arrive in two different spots. Gives combat squads a little more tactical flexibility, but it's not that huge of a deal
2. You don't scatter via the summoning if you DS by a mystic... Because people are real hot to use those mystics!
3. Turbo-penetrator lets you rend on every 6. I don't know how you could read this otherwise, but it's good to have a reference to prove it.
4. Oh snap, they reversed the ruling on halberds and things that reduce initiative! Whip coils and lash whips be damned! So, GKs will still get the +2 initiative in combat when reduced.

Imperial Guard
I know fuck-all about guard so I will go over these without much commentary.
1. Errata - Infantry Platoon, second sentence
Change to “Each Infantry Platoon is deployed in place
of a single unit in missions that limit the number units
that can be deployed. In addition when making a
reserve or outflanking roll, roll once for the whole
Infantry Platoon. Any units in reserve that are
embarked upon a non-dedicated transport are instead
rolled for separately.”
Cool! (sarcasm)
2. Q: How many Kill Points is a Company Command Squad
worth? (p30)
A: One.
Awesome!(more sarcasm)
3. Looks like a couple FAQs to bring Techpriest Engineseers in line with Techmarines. They can't repair more than one and they can repair when embarked.
4. Penal, he he. the FAQ said penal
Q: Does a Penal Custodian benefit from the effect of
the Desperadoes special rule? (p41)
A: Yes.
Q: Do any Independent Characters joined to a Penal
Legion unit gain the effect of the Desperadoes special
rule? (p41)
A: No.
Fuck yeah!!! (even more sarcasm)
5. Weaken resolve can now target units in CC. That would be incredibly broken in an army that ahd good CC units. Fortunately this is guard.
6. They clarified weapon destroyed on a manticore. The missiles are one system and are all destroyed on a weapon destroyed result. This is actually awesome news, because fuck a manticore.
7. Q: Can Ministorum Priests or Techpriest Enginseers be
taken as the mandatory HQ choice? (p93)
A: Yes.
Uh, radical!!! (Ultimate sarcasm!!!)

Necron FAQ!
I think I will cover this one in it's own article as there is a lot to go over!

ORKs
1.  Kaboomed vehicles leave behind Difficult terrain after you pick them up
2. Snikrot can't ambush with a vehicle
Fairly straight forward. There aren't too many questions left in the ORK codex these days.

Space Marines
1. Again, Clarified combat squads a bit. When they come in from reserves or infiltrate, they can arrive in two different spots. Gives combat squads a little more tactical flexibility, but it's not that huge of a deal
2. They also clarified that Marneus Calgar's God of war only works while he is on the table.

Space Wolves
1. Clarified that thunderclap doesn't scatter. I don't know what that does off the top of my head, so it must be wayyyy OP.
2. Oooohhh
Q: Do you need to roll To Hit with Jaws of the World
Wolf? (p37)
A: No.
That gives jaws one less failure point.  That's a pretty big buff.
Wow, that jaws change restores it back to being one of the best powers.  It looks like it's still classified as a shooting power so you can still use it out of a rhino, so the rune priest in a rhino by himself tactic will still hold strong.

Tyranids
A lot of stuff here. Maybe the bugs will finally get some FAQ lovin?
1.  Clarified that bugs falling back into synapse auto-regroup
2. Shadows in the warp clarified to only affect enemy psykers.
3. Clarified instinctive behavior to only affect units that are not falling back or gone to ground.
4. Clarified that ICs cannot join lictors before they arrive from reserve
5. Clarified that hive tyrant + tyrant guard is worth 1 KP
6. Assaulting venomthropes is dangerous and every unit must test. Assaulting through a venom cloud doesn't count as terrain for the purpose of grenades for some reason. This is a weird ruling as I have always played that if you roll a terrain check, then you will need grenades.
7. Q: Can a unit take cover saves from any source other
than the terrain they are in, or touching, against
Wounds caused by an impaler cannon? (p47)
A: No.
Hmm, I'm not sure if their implying that you can't take smoke and KFF saves here. It seems like that's what they are saying but I thought it was ruled otherwise previously.
8. ICs will gain all special rules of a unit that is affected by brood progenitor and will take damage if the tervigon dies. It must be in range of the tervigon when it wants to use the progenitor abilities.
9. Additional clarification on the lash whip vs halberd item.
10. Not that Nids have trouble with walkers, but this is a pretty cool change
Q: If a model with Acid Blood takes an unsaved Wound
from a Walker, does the Walker get to take an
Initiative test, and only if it fails this test do you roll to
see if it suffers a glancing hit? (p84)
A: Yes.

6 comments:

  1. While the Jaws ruling gives Wolves a buff, they've taken away from them with this:

    Q: Can models embarked upon a vehicle use its fire
    points to draw line of sight to a unit to use special
    rules or wargear (other than shooting)? (p66)
    A: No

    You know those Njal builds that have been performing well? They might have to be changed in light of this, although I reckon that Tony Kopach lad is still a good enough player to get by with these changes.

    I've highlighted it here and so far no-one has objected to it: http://touchedbygreatness.blogspot.com/2012/01/new-40k-faqs-sticking-it-to-njal.html

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anything that gets Njal off the table is cool with me! I hate that guy.

    Nice blog btw!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Jawsome!

    See? Street Sharks references are *always* relevant.

    ReplyDelete
  4. If you or John can work "I'm gonna jawsome guys with my rune priest/njal" into a game then I will high five you and acknowledge the power of jawsome. Until then, samurai pizza cats forever!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Consider it done. That's going to happen even if I have to build a Space Wolf army to do it myself!

    ReplyDelete
  6. And you won't even have to roll to hit...

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...